• Developed by the software community in 1986 with the leadership from the SEI.
  • Has become the factor standard for assessing and improving processes related to software development.
  • Has evolved into a process maturity framework Provides guidance for measuring software process maturity helps establish process improvement programs.

Maturity levels

  • Initial
  • Repeatable
  • Defined
  • Manageable
  • Optimizing

Level 1: Initial
Each maturity level decomposes into several key process areas that indicate the areas an organization should focus on to improve its software process.

Level 2 – Repeatable:Key practice areas

  • Requirements management
  • Software project planning
  • Software project tracking&oversight
  • Software subcontract management
  • Software quality assurance
  • Software configuration management

Level 3 – Defined: Key practice areas

  • Organization process focus
  • Organization process definition
  • Training program
  • Integrated software management
  • Software product engineering
  • Inter group coordination
  • Peer reviews

Level 4 – Manageable: Key practice areas

  • Organization process focus
  • Software Quality Management